SOCNET

Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > General Topics > The Lounge

Old 16 August 2019, 18:32
Confirmed User

Revocable Trust

Has anyone self-established a revocable living trust? Is it something you really need a lawyer for, or is doing it yourself fairly straightforward?

Any personal experiences with setting one up, as well as any subsequent issues, would be much appreciated.
Old 16 August 2019, 20:13
Confirmed User

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atrax View Post
Has anyone self-established a revocable living trust? Is it something you really need a lawyer for, or is doing it yourself fairly straightforward?

Any personal experiences with setting one up, as well as any subsequent issues, would be much appreciated.
Most issues in this sort of thing are found after the death of the person making the trust. I am assuming you are seeking to avoid probate and make some estate planning decisions. Frankly I am a lawyer and wouldn't do this myself.

Look if you think it is expensive to hire a lawyer to do it right consider how expensive it will be to get it fixed assuming it can be fixed.

A good lawyer will spend a lot to time with you to determine exactly what you want the trust to do and to make sure that the assets you want to go to the trust actually go there.
Old 16 August 2019, 22:04
Ghey floor sweeper

As with most things legal, it really depends on what you’re trying to accomplish. Tax-wise, the unified credit is now sufficient to eliminate most of the tax issues a normal person will face. Once you address the tax issues, a trust is simply a way of holding property.

That said, have an estate planning attorney set it up for you. Or send me a PM. I’ve helped a few members with theirs.
Old 17 August 2019, 05:25
been ***** **** that

I know all about Revocable trusts from watching PBS! Lillian Goldman and M. D'Agostino re-lie on them!
Old 17 August 2019, 11:50
Did...did I do that?