Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > Employment and Training > Professional Development and Education

Old 23 December 2017, 08:34

advice needed

hey all
i am a recently qualified psd operative & am trying to start a serious carreer with it. i have very little experience except military & MOD contracts,i have been advised that there is a certain way to approach employers & that it is difficult to get started in this line of work. i am a british citizen & speak french aswell & was just looking for any pointers & also if its possible to work for an american company? my training was completed in texas,thanks in advance for any help
Old 23 December 2017, 10:27
Authorized Personnel

How are you recently qualified for PSD work? I take it you attended a High Threat PSD course here in the United States and they gave you a certificate?
Old 23 December 2017, 11:02
▄ber Equus Asinus

He's a Brit. I'm assuming he is referring to SIA Level 3 Certification (what the UK govt requires for someone to work in an Executive Protection capacity).
Old 23 December 2017, 11:20
Authorized Personnel

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdwest View Post
He's a Brit. I'm assuming he is referring to SIA Level 3 Certification (what the UK govt requires for someone to work in an Executive Protection capacity).
That was my original assumption, but the end of the post states that he completed his training in Texas. No SIA training in Texas that I know of.
Old 23 December 2017, 11:22
▄ber Equus Asinus

your eyes are better than mine... I completely missed TX somehow..

Im not even aware of a nationally recognized EP/PSD training program in TX thats open to non mil/leo personnel..

There's the TX lvl 4 PPO course (state requirement for EP guys).. but thats all I am aware of..
Old 23 December 2017, 13:45
Confirmed User