Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > Areas of Expertise > Technology and Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3 January 2017, 11:54
RangerCharlie's Avatar
RangerCharlie RangerCharlie is offline
A/1/75
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: VA
Posts: 7,963
Excel

OK, stupid Excel question that I can't find the answer for on MS or other sites.

Windows 10 and Excel 2010 when you have more than 1 file open, the taskbar icon only shows 1 file (The current workbook). You used to be able to hover over it and the other workbooks would display to easily go between them.
I have tried:
In Excel advance settings click and reclick "show all windows on Taskbar". This does nothing
In windows Taskbar settings changed combine taskbar buttons to never. This did not help.

Any ideas?
__________________
Trust but Verify

Charlie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3 January 2017, 12:59
Fubar's Avatar
Fubar Fubar is online now
Been There Done That
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Fork Ranch
Posts: 3,105
I am not having that issue with Excel 2016. Expensive suggestion, but upgrade may be in order.
__________________
"The nice thing about Twitter, in the old days when I got attacked it would take me years to get even with somebody, now when Iím attacked I can do it instantaneously, and it has a lot of power. You see some genius statements on Twitter. You see some statements coming out which are Ernest Hemingway times two." - The Trumpmeister
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3 January 2017, 13:13
BionicDamien BionicDamien is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 151
Try holding CTRL and then hit the tab key, see if that flips through them, or try holding CTRL+Tab, see what that does.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3 January 2017, 13:48
RangerCharlie's Avatar
RangerCharlie RangerCharlie is offline
A/1/75
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: VA
Posts: 7,963
CTRL + TAB does flip them.
Still would be nice to see what is there as I may have others open and forget they are there.
__________________
Trust but Verify

Charlie
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3 January 2017, 13:58
BionicDamien BionicDamien is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 151
Hmm...hold control and hold the Windows icon key...that might be a work around you can use for the time being. It should show all open sheets individually that you can scroll through using the tab key or mouse, whichever your preference.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4 January 2017, 15:18
RangerCharlie's Avatar
RangerCharlie RangerCharlie is offline
A/1/75
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: VA
Posts: 7,963
Oddly if you control + tab a few times, the multipage icon appears on the taskbar and you are able to hover over and select each individual open book.
Cra-Cra...
__________________
Trust but Verify

Charlie
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 4 January 2017, 22:01
wildman43 wildman43 is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: california
Posts: 1,017
Thumbs up

When you have Excel open an need to look at a different file JUST click on FILE at the top of the page it show all the file you have. Just click on the one you need. when you are finished with that one just click on FILE at the top of the page an find the one you need.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4 January 2017, 22:04
hawkdrver's Avatar
hawkdrver hawkdrver is offline
Red Headed Stepchild
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: AK
Posts: 1,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fubar View Post
I am not having that issue with Excel 2016. Expensive suggestion, but upgrade may be in order.
There are a lot of reduced price options out there...student, DoD, corporate. My company has a $10 deal with Microsoft for 2016 Office available at the moment. Surely you fit into one of these categories
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5 January 2017, 07:11
RangerCharlie's Avatar
RangerCharlie RangerCharlie is offline
A/1/75
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: VA
Posts: 7,963
$10/mo per user. I have 8 employees, so that is $960 I would have to spend per year on this.
I don't see anything in 2016 that I need vs 2010 that we have now. Well other than the stupid icon issue....
__________________
Trust but Verify

Charlie
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5 January 2017, 10:50
BionicDamien BionicDamien is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 151
For what it's worth, I'm not a fan of 2016.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Our new posting rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:40.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Socnet.com All Rights Reserved
SOCNET