SOCNET

Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > General Topics > The Lounge

Old 25 January 2016, 16:26

Stolen Valor act repealed??

Can anyone please shed some light on this? I am a Vet, and don't have much on medals or decorations but what I do have I earned and now they say its ok to wear or say you earned medals you didn't? Please tell me this is just scuttlebutt!!
Old 25 January 2016, 19:53
Authorized Personnel

Not sure why you put this in the SEAL forum. As for the topic, it's not against the law to purchase or wear medals. If you're not doing it to financially defraud others, it is not illegal.
Old 25 January 2016, 19:54
Confirmed User

This is from Wikipedia. First Amendment trumps all, no matter how stupid.

In United States v. Alvarez the U.S. Supreme Court ruled on June 28, 2012, that the Stolen Valor Act was an unconstitutional abridgment of the freedom of speech under the First Amendment, striking down the law in a 6 to 3 decision.
Old 25 January 2016, 20:19
Administrator

Moved to the Lounge

Loved by few, judged by many
Old 25 January 2016, 20:27
killjoy

Quote:
Originally Posted by CV View Post
Not sure why you put this in the SEAL forum. As for the topic, it's not against the law to purchase or wear medals. If you're not doing it to financially defraud others, it is not illegal.
Curious if the slightest transgression could be prosecuted on this, in an instance where one merely gets a free cup of coffee at the local gas station because of false medals worn. Does an ill-gained dollar cross the line, or is a certain minimum required?
Old 25 January 2016, 20:32
Authorized Personnel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Look. Don'tTouch. View Post
Curious if the slightest transgression could be prosecuted on this, in an instance where one merely gets a free cup of coffee at the local gas station because of false medals worn. Does an ill-gained dollar cross the line, or is a certain minimum required?