Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > Employment and Training > Professional Development and Education

Old 10 March 2015, 11:26

Center for Security and Emergency Management

Anyone know more about www.c4sem.org ? I got the link during ACAP and am wondering if their certifications are well regarded in the private security world? Has anyone done any of the classes, and if so are they useful? Anyone heard anything about certs from this training company giving any sort of edge in hiring or promotion process? Any information about this company would be useful, as the classes are pricey and I want to get a good training and recognition value for my time and money. Thanks SOCNET!

TL:DR I am aware of ASIS and IFPO as being important and am already planning on getting professional certifications through them, but would c4sem classes be an useful addition, or waste of time/money?
Old 18 March 2015, 13:11
NKDA

Well I can tell you this much: I have a Masters in Emergency Services Management from The George Washington University in DC (DC being the stated headquarters of the company you linked) and stay active in the EM community, but have never heard of them.

Not to mention, any website with links like "Army Cool", "Air Force Cool", etc. are suspect to me.

Not saying it is, but on the surface it would appear to be a GI Bill money mill - but I will gladly stand corrected if anyone has a counter to that.
Old 18 March 2015, 13:41
The Sagacious One

As you know I read the entire Internet, everyday. I have seen their site before, but I have never worked with anyone holding these credentials. It seems to me they are more of a clearing house for other certs (IT?) and have some of their own.

What are you looking to do? I would recommend Henley Putnam University.
Old 18 March 2015, 14:04

Army COOL / Navy COOL is an actual military program (with a terrible name) https://www.cool.army.mil/