SOCNET

Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > Areas of Expertise > Technology and Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8 June 2018, 12:07
Jim1348 Jim1348 is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: US
Posts: 137
Monitor Size

I am currently using a 22 inch Samsung monitor connected to my laptop computer. I am considering a somewhat bigger monitor. What is the biggest monitor thatyou use just for surfing the web?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 8 June 2018, 12:19
RemTech RemTech is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Jax Bch FL
Posts: 864
27" - I will often resize windows so more than one app is up. On my system with 2 monitors I just use both screens.

Go big or go home:)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8 June 2018, 12:34
Jim1348 Jim1348 is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: US
Posts: 137
Monitor Size

Thank you for the reply. That is pretty much where I am at, trying to decide if I go 24 inch or 27 inch. I think I have the "real estate" on my computer desk, because I have measured.

My "second screen" is the laptop itself. I have one of the 2 in 1s and the keyboard is facing down and the screen faces me. Usually it is just playing some video and the big screen is what I surf on.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8 June 2018, 15:18
Tracy's Avatar
Tracy Tracy is offline
Been There Done That
 
Join Date: Feb 1997
Location: West
Posts: 11,107
24 inch monitor. Larger monitors are great for multiple windows when doing work.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8 June 2018, 16:02
Rich Gause Rich Gause is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Plantation, FL
Posts: 326
I am hooked up to a 32" screen tv..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 8 June 2018, 18:10
IronCross's Avatar
IronCross IronCross is offline
Supporterator
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas
Posts: 805
As cheap as 1080p monitors are, no reason not to go 27".
__________________
Keep your mouth shut and listen. That is the best piece of advice I have been given.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9 June 2018, 17:37
Jim1348 Jim1348 is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: US
Posts: 137
Samsung C27F396 Vs. Samsung C27F398

I have been looking at some Samsung 27 inch curved monitors. The two that interest me are:

Samsung C27F396

Samsung C27F398

Can anybody here tell me what the differences are between the two of them? The only difference I can find is the C27F398 has a Display Port, in addition to HSMI, and the C27F396 has VGA, in addition to HDMI.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9 June 2018, 20:59
The Fat Guy's Avatar
The Fat Guy The Fat Guy is offline
The Sagacious One
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pushing string down the hall
Posts: 13,807
Dell makes a kick ass 43" monitor. I bought it to replace a Samsung 45" TV. Much much clearer and very cool when reviewing two documents back to back.
__________________
No one will take better care of us, than us: Suicide Hotline: 1-800-273-8255
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10 June 2018, 00:08
mdwest's Avatar
mdwest mdwest is offline
Über Equus Asinus
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: here
Posts: 2,706
Ive been running 3 screens for a couple of years at this point... and have gotten spoiled.. any time I am traveling and only have the laptop monitor it makes me nuts having to open and close documents and move stuff around on the screen...

Ive got a 22", a 24" and the 15" laptop all running through a docking station..

I've been giving serious thought to upgrading to 2x 27" monitors though and dumping the 22" and 24"... my eyes aren't what they used to be.. every little bit extra I can provide them helps..
__________________
There are no stupid questions... There are however a lot of inquisitive morons..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10 June 2018, 06:57
Polypro's Avatar
Polypro Polypro is offline
BTDT
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: A Noisy Bar In Avalon
Posts: 12,771
My 55" LCD TV It unfortunately doesn't break, so not justified in moving to 75" +
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10 June 2018, 07:26
8654maine 8654maine is offline
Another pool cleaner
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,473
Porn must look huge on those screens.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10 June 2018, 07:36
Polypro's Avatar
Polypro Polypro is offline
BTDT
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: A Noisy Bar In Avalon
Posts: 12,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8654maine View Post
Porn must look huge on those screens.
I would assume almost life size, but my religion forbids it
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11 June 2018, 08:52
Shark0311 Shark0311 is online now
Been There Done That
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: IL
Posts: 574
A LG 34 inch 2560x1080 does the trick. Anything smaller and I like 2k or 4k monitors. 1080p gives me a headache on smaller screens.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11 June 2018, 19:34
nofear's Avatar
nofear nofear is offline
Proud wearer of a Beard.
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australia-based
Posts: 2,705
I have a 40 inch TV set up as my home office monitor. But I'll be moving to a 2 or 3-screen set up in the next few months, so I can have multiple programs and documents open at once.
__________________
"Amateurs train until they get it right. Professionals train until they can't get it wrong." - Unknown
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11 June 2018, 21:22
The Fat Guy's Avatar
The Fat Guy The Fat Guy is offline
The Sagacious One
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pushing string down the hall
Posts: 13,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdwest View Post
Ive been running 3 screens for a couple of years at this point... and have gotten spoiled.. any time I am traveling and only have the laptop monitor it makes me nuts having to open and close documents and move stuff around on the screen...

Ive got a 22", a 24" and the 15" laptop all running through a docking station..

I've been giving serious thought to upgrading to 2x 27" monitors though and dumping the 22" and 24"... my eyes aren't what they used to be.. every little bit extra I can provide them helps..
Get the Dell. You wont be sorry.
__________________
No one will take better care of us, than us: Suicide Hotline: 1-800-273-8255
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11 June 2018, 23:56
John6719's Avatar
John6719 John6719 is offline
?
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 1,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdwest View Post
Ive been running 3 screens for a couple of years at this point... and have gotten spoiled.. any time I am traveling and only have the laptop monitor it makes me nuts having to open and close documents and move stuff around on the screen...

Ive got a 22", a 24" and the 15" laptop all running through a docking station..

I've been giving serious thought to upgrading to 2x 27" monitors though and dumping the 22" and 24"... my eyes aren't what they used to be.. every little bit extra I can provide them helps..
This is exactly what I'm running now. Was doing 22" and the computer screen. Just ordered a new computer and decided to add a 24" screen to the mix. Haven't fully grasp how to use it yet...creature of habit, keep going back to the computer screen instead of the third, larger one.
__________________
"The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress depends on the unreasonable man." - George Bernard Shaw

"OK, thankfully my wife doesn't read SOCNET -- something to do with it being filled with likeminded, immature people. Fuck her." - SOTB
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 21 July 2018, 21:32
RELeeNC RELeeNC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Carolina Beach, NC
Posts: 4
I have 2x27" and would never think of going for less than that. Do keep in mind that as sizes get bigger, the resolution also may increase. Mine run at a native resolution on 1920x1080. Smaller monitors may run at resoltions as low as 1280x1024. The fonts might be the exact same size on both, but you get a lot more screen real estate on the larger monitor.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 22 July 2018, 06:38
Steve40th Steve40th is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Charleston, South Carolina
Posts: 772
Make sure your laptop can push two screens or a larger screen too.
I use a Redmere hdmi cable from Monoprice.com. I use it on a 46 inch. They are super light/thin and great cables...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 22 July 2018, 09:07
The Fat Guy's Avatar
The Fat Guy The Fat Guy is offline
The Sagacious One
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pushing string down the hall
Posts: 13,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polypro View Post
My 55" LCD TV It unfortunately doesn't break, so not justified in moving to 75" +
How is the clarity of the lettering, lines etc? My TV was a bit older, but with just a hint of blur. The 43" monitor cleared that up.
__________________
No one will take better care of us, than us: Suicide Hotline: 1-800-273-8255
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 23 July 2018, 09:07
Polypro's Avatar
Polypro Polypro is offline
BTDT
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: A Noisy Bar In Avalon
Posts: 12,771
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Fat Guy View Post
How is the clarity of the lettering, lines etc? My TV was a bit older, but with just a hint of blur. The 43" monitor cleared that up.
It's perfect - 1080p is 1080p. BUT - on displays that are made as TVs FIRST, you need to make sure that A. Your graphics driver/Windows is set to the correct resolution (should be auto selected to 1920x1080p, but check), and B. the TV "Mode" is set to the proper pixel map for a computer - usually called "1:1" or maybe "Just Scan", or.... check the TV manual. Anything else ("Zoom" "Pillar Box", etc...) will F up the picture. Also make sure your Sharpness is at 0 to start - that setting, if too high, can make the picture look "off".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Our new posting rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Socnet.com All Rights Reserved
© SOCNET 1996-2018