Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > General Topics > Fitness

Old 13 February 2015, 12:25
Confirmed User

Getting fit and healthy-need running advice

I am one of those fat civilians you guys detest. A recent trip to the doctor for pre-surgery clearance was a kick in the gut. Seeing 361.2lbs on the scale was a wake up call I've been hitting snooze on for a few years. At 42yo with three kids it was well passed the time to get healthy.

Sometime around 2007 I went from 350 to 225 over a year's time as a result of a pre-adoption physical. A few years after that I had a hip replacement got lazy, reverted back to unhealty ways. It never stopped from doing things, just from doing them the way I wanted to.

SOTB's thread got me thinking about ways to counteract the effects of sitting at a desk. I don't have the intense stare down, but spend most of the time standing at my desk, or using a yoga ball instead of a chair.

A friend convinced me to do the AdvoCare 24 Day Challenge of which I am on day 20. Since December I am down to 319lbs.

I am working out every morning and set a goal to run a 5K in October. Here is where I need help. I hate running. Most of my cardio is on the ellipitcal. Last week I started jogging on treadmill, last night I ran the first mile I've run since high school. Short of just running, can you offer any running tips.

Thank you for any tips, and for indulging me.
Old 13 February 2015, 13:00
Confirmed User

Monitor everything you eat, use free apps such as myfitnesspal, and others...it may be extreme but what personally what worked for me was to actually use a digital scale (you can get it from walmart for $17.99-$19.99) to weigh out your food....If that is too extreme, just try to track your portions. Walking to moderate jogging (and by this I mean no disrespect) because of your weight IMO is the best exercise..In addition, add in weight training like yesterday. IMO (this is just me) learn the basics of weight lifting...