Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > Areas of Expertise > Technology and Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #81  
Old 18 September 2010, 14:55
ussfpa's Avatar
ussfpa ussfpa is offline
Making sure They Come Home
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tampa
Posts: 3,312
Icon5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy View Post
I'll wait until I'm back CONUS for the iPad however, I did order the Henge Dock for my 13" MBP.

Stay safe.
I'm stupid when it comes to computers...
I know this - so does everyone else. So before you get started...just shut up about it

What does the Henge Dock thingy do? And what does it mean to use your MBP as a "server" for the iPad?

Talk to me about this like a 3rd grader...who is in the 3rd grade for the second time.

Thanks-

PA
__________________
I cannot empathize with a slackard, a shirker, and a coward. I would probably kick your ass as well, if one of the other members didn't beat me to it.
Happy New Year Message from TR- 1/1/04
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 19 September 2010, 00:57
BOFH's Avatar
BOFH BOFH is offline
I aim to misbehave
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: \\Gibson\garbage
Posts: 4,152
MBP as a server for iPad would likely entail using the higher memory capabilities and communication ability of the MBP, with iPad syncing to it. Basically, MBP holds more shit...iPad can access the shit stored on the MBP. Henge dock is just a docking station. Basically, it hooks to a monitor/keyboard/mouse/whatever-other-peripherals-and-accessories. When you get home/to the office/wherever, you drop your Macbook in the dock, and it makes it function like a desktop, placing the display on the monitor, and taking its input from the external keyboard and mouse. When you want to go again, just grab the MacBook back off the dock. Just like the "docking stations," DoD often uses for government laptops, especially overseas.
__________________
"...for those who man the battle line, the bugle whispers low, and freedom has a taste and price the protected never know..."


While true:
Continue
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 19 September 2010, 03:06
Guy's Avatar
Guy Guy is offline
#AllLionsMatter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: CONUS @ the moment
Posts: 12,723
Quote:
Originally Posted by ussfpa View Post
Talk to me about this like a 3rd grader...who is in the 3rd grade for the second time.
What he said below:

Quote:
Originally Posted by BOFH View Post
Henge dock is just a docking station. Basically, it hooks to a monitor/keyboard/mouse/whatever-other-peripherals-and-accessories. When you get home/to the office/wherever, you drop your Macbook in the dock, and it makes it function like a desktop, placing the display on the monitor, and taking its input from the external keyboard and mouse. When you want to go again, just grab the MacBook back off the dock. Just like the "docking stations," DoD often uses for government laptops, especially overseas.
I'll go with the iPad after reading this article: iPads to be distributed to incoming class by Stanford medical school.



Stay safe.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8654maine

There is a limit to compassion.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 19 September 2010, 11:35
DC Photog's Avatar
DC Photog DC Photog is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy View Post
I just started working w/RAW files and the SSD seems pretty fast.

Stay safe.
Battery power on this thing is so much better and seems to heat up less. I went for the small SSD, but it was still more than the 80gb that came on the old one. Everything opens and moves faster than my old pos. The aircard seems to pick up signals better than the old one.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 12 September 2012, 10:32
SOTB's Avatar
SOTB SOTB is offline
Minus one, but more symmetrical....
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Clorox'ing the gene pool....
Posts: 33,024
Fuck a bunch of simpleton camel-fuckers, and the actions of our apologetic political representation -- I'm interested in the most important events of the day -- the impending announcement of the iPhone 5.

Let's see the last thing Jobs had a hand in....
__________________
Losing faith in humanity, one assclown at a time....
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 12 September 2012, 13:46
TechGuy's Avatar
TechGuy TechGuy is offline
C:\Your Porn\Midget
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 592
Exclamation Iphone 5

Price: $200, $300, $400 for 16GB, 32GB, and 64GB respectively

Shipping September 21, preorder September 14th.
__________________
Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in getting up every time we do.

M06: I'd rather take a shit in a $2 gym bag from fucking Walmart and store it in my basement for an "emergency" than buy your garbage.

How about them apples?
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 12 September 2012, 14:16
Hostile0311 Hostile0311 is offline
Ne Obliviscaris
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Malta
Posts: 2,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by TechGuy View Post
Price: $200, $300, $400 for 16GB, 32GB, and 64GB respectively

Shipping September 21, preorder September 14th.
Is that with a plan from a carrier or open market prices? Seems cheap compared to the 4 and 4S.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 12 September 2012, 14:52
TechGuy's Avatar
TechGuy TechGuy is offline
C:\Your Porn\Midget
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hostile0311 View Post
Is that with a plan from a carrier or open market prices? Seems cheap compared to the 4 and 4S.
MSRP from apple website
__________________
Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in getting up every time we do.

M06: I'd rather take a shit in a $2 gym bag from fucking Walmart and store it in my basement for an "emergency" than buy your garbage.

How about them apples?
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 20 September 2012, 12:41
SOTB's Avatar
SOTB SOTB is offline
Minus one, but more symmetrical....
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Clorox'ing the gene pool....
Posts: 33,024
Well Apple, good job -- not.

Besides simply forcing a system upon people when it clearly isn't ready, they also stripped the things from the system that we need -- want.

IE, with the new Apple Maps shit, I cannot simply plug in a location on my iPad and go there without requesting directions. Anyone here imagine a scenario where they want to look at a location without having to request directions from their current location? I can. So the answer? Use your browser to look up an address on Google -- LOL.

I love Mac products -- this time they simply fucked up....
__________________
Losing faith in humanity, one assclown at a time....
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 20 September 2012, 12:53
ksfa's Avatar
ksfa ksfa is offline
exorcist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US
Posts: 607
Just pre-ordered the iphone 5. Hope it lives up to all the hype and the wait to get it.
__________________
Scientists have confirmed that today's earthquake was caused by our Founding Fathers turning over in their graves.

The only thing worse then losing a child in the service of our country is to lose that child to an ungrateful nation.

Still missing you...SGT Brandon J. Thomas 19thSFG(A)...you are always in my heart, buddy.
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 20 September 2012, 15:44
ksfa's Avatar
ksfa ksfa is offline
exorcist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US
Posts: 607
I also heard that the update IOS6 will do away with google maps, so beware if you are a google map fan. I hate the war between apple and the rest of the world...seems like the customer gets caught in between.
__________________
Scientists have confirmed that today's earthquake was caused by our Founding Fathers turning over in their graves.

The only thing worse then losing a child in the service of our country is to lose that child to an ungrateful nation.

Still missing you...SGT Brandon J. Thomas 19thSFG(A)...you are always in my heart, buddy.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 20 September 2012, 15:49
Maverick's Avatar
Maverick Maverick is offline
Authorized Personnel
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: DFW
Posts: 1,339
I just updated to IOS6 and I'm still trying to figure out all of the new things that came with it. I'm in agreement with SOTB though in regards to the maps app. I like having turn by turn once in awhile, however I tend to rarely use it because I like to have the option of just looking at the map. One thing I DO like about the new maps app, is that it points out where road construction is taking place.
__________________
"Improving team morale, one compliment at a time."
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 20 September 2012, 15:49
SOTB's Avatar
SOTB SOTB is offline
Minus one, but more symmetrical....
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Clorox'ing the gene pool....
Posts: 33,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksfa
I also heard that the update IOS6 will do away with google maps, so beware if you are a google map fan....
Post #89....
__________________
Losing faith in humanity, one assclown at a time....
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 20 September 2012, 16:56
DevilDawg's Avatar
DevilDawg DevilDawg is offline
Adding Chlorine
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston Way North, TX
Posts: 815
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick View Post
One thing I DO like about the new maps app, is that it points out where road construction is taking place.
as an aside, while reading the internet in it's entirety last night. I found a couple of the beta tester/geek reviews stating the "Congestion" for traffic was largely based on the other iPhones in the area.

I am not ready yet to add the bonus of the Do Not Disturb that should have been on the very 1st iPhone at the cost of decent mapping. Like others I can get by with using safari>google>maps= GAY... but come'on man..
__________________
It must be a blessing to some that stupidity isn't painful...


Not As Lean, Not As Mean, Still A Marine
YAT YAS
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 20 September 2012, 23:54
GackMan's Avatar
GackMan GackMan is offline
Authorized Personnel
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 7,154
I miss the ability to check a route via mass transit on my phone. Go to a strange city, figure out what train to take and when w/ out trying to decipher a map and timetable in public. See if it is faster / more direct than a taxi, etc.
__________________
"Everything government touches turns to crap." - Ringo Starr
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 21 September 2012, 00:49
GreenMeany 5's Avatar
GreenMeany 5 GreenMeany 5 is offline
I ♣ Hippies!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bunkered
Posts: 1,480
Has anybody with a 3Gs updated their software. I did and now it says my SIM is not valid......ergo, no service!
__________________
"What would a pirate do?"

"The real problem of leisure time is how to keep others from using yours." ~Arthur Lacey
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 21 September 2012, 09:40
SOTB's Avatar
SOTB SOTB is offline
Minus one, but more symmetrical....
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Clorox'ing the gene pool....
Posts: 33,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenMeany 5 View Post
Has anybody with a 3Gs updated their software. I did and now it says my SIM is not valid......ergo, no service!
Oooooooooooh, doesn't read good at all. I have a 3G, jailbroken, and haven't updated my software beyond 3.1.3 -- mostly because I'm worried of moving to a 4.0 OS and having issues with jailbreaking it all over again.

Perhaps you can go backwards, no? Can you restore your phone to it's last backup????
__________________
Losing faith in humanity, one assclown at a time....
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 21 September 2012, 10:18
cord's Avatar
cord cord is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenMeany 5 View Post
Has anybody with a 3Gs updated their software. I did and now it says my SIM is not valid......ergo, no service!
No issues here. I upgraded my 3GS yesterday and its actually made quite an improvement in the phone's program speed.
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 21 September 2012, 11:52
GreenMeany 5's Avatar
GreenMeany 5 GreenMeany 5 is offline
I ♣ Hippies!
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bunkered
Posts: 1,480
Quote:
Originally Posted by SOTB View Post
Oooooooooooh, doesn't read good at all. I have a 3G, jailbroken, and haven't updated my software beyond 3.1.3 -- mostly because I'm worried of moving to a 4.0 OS and having issues with jailbreaking it all over again.

Perhaps you can go backwards, no? Can you restore your phone to it's last backup????
From what I have read, the restore option could make the problem worse.....

As in I get a paperweight...

5.1.1 and prior worked just fine..... 6.0, not so much.
__________________
"What would a pirate do?"

"The real problem of leisure time is how to keep others from using yours." ~Arthur Lacey
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 21 September 2012, 11:56
SOTB's Avatar
SOTB SOTB is offline
Minus one, but more symmetrical....
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Clorox'ing the gene pool....
Posts: 33,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenMeany 5 View Post
From what I have read, the restore option could make the problem worse.....

As in I get a paperweight...
Right on, and I think I may have not clearly written my thoughts. A restore may not get it done for you -- although I do think that a simple wipe and reload of a previous OS should make the phone work again. No, I meant specifically reloading your last backup -- hell, your phone should have made one in iTunes (on your computer) right before it updated your software. THAT is what I would try and reload -- not a restore....
__________________
Losing faith in humanity, one assclown at a time....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Our new posting rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 18:02.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Socnet.com All Rights Reserved
SOCNET