Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > General Topics > The Lounge

Old 20 November 2017, 10:00
#BlackRiflesMatter

What is a bitcoin?

Okay, I'm an old dude, and only semi-computer literate. But, I keep hearing more and more about bitcoins.

Can some of you young folks explain what a bitcoin is to me?

Who started this? Is it a valid form of money? Is it legal?
Just a passing fad?
Old 20 November 2017, 10:17
Been There Done That

its an electronic, untraceable currency. Yes it is legal, but its sketchy as hell.
Old 20 November 2017, 10:23

digital tulip bulbs
Old 20 November 2017, 10:26
Confirmed User

I'm not an expert at all and I don't trade them, but from one guy who has a layman understanding to another:

Bitcoin was the first, and is the most prominent crypto currency, meaning it exists entirely digitally. It was created by an unknown individual or group of individuals in Japan in the late 2000's. It is produced involving a block chain which is fairly confusing to me but boils down to this: per the creator, there is a finite number of bitcoin that can ever exist. In predetermined intervals of time, more bitcoin becomes available for people to acquire via a process called "mining" in which your computer works on/decodes code issued by the creator. As time goes on, each interval during which more bitcoin becomes available will yield less of it. Eventually, I think in the early 2100's, no more bitcoin will ever be produced.

This creates a finite supply and is one the big reasons the stuff is worth anything. The other selling points are that it is not tied to a central government, and it is largely untraceable, making it ideal for illicit transactions.

The downsides are that it is not tied to a central government, and at this point in time it is extremely volatile in price, which is a problem for online vendors. If they accept it as payment and the next day bitcoin crashes, they are out a ton of money.