Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > Employment and Training > Company Vetting and RFI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11 April 2017, 14:36
claymore36 claymore36 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Houston
Posts: 8
DoD Contractor CAC Card

Will a contractor ID work for TSA pre-check? Has anyone tried it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11 April 2017, 15:28
275RLTW's Avatar
275RLTW 275RLTW is offline
Been There Done That
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 488
No.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11 April 2017, 15:35
275RLTW's Avatar
275RLTW 275RLTW is offline
Been There Done That
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NC
Posts: 488
Since Google is appearently broken, here is a link explaining it for you.

https://www.tsa.gov/precheck/faq
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11 April 2017, 21:13
claymore36 claymore36 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Houston
Posts: 8
Google is not broken. I already went there. TSA website is not clear on contractors ID. I am getting mixed answers. Has anyone tried it?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12 April 2017, 00:03
Little Fix's Avatar
Little Fix Little Fix is offline
Been There Done That
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CONUS
Posts: 1,334
Everyone I know who has used it is also retired. I think the retired ID number is the same as the CAC so it's probably not what you need. I'd try it and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12 April 2017, 06:06
24/7's Avatar
24/7 24/7 is offline
Been There Done That
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: No longer where I want to be.
Posts: 4,245
Different numbers. Neither work for Pre-check.
__________________
We don’t derive our purpose from our work, we bring our purpose TO our work.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12 April 2017, 06:12
GracieLou's Avatar
GracieLou GracieLou is offline
Authorized Personnel
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by claymore36 View Post
Google is not broken. I already went there. TSA website is not clear on contractors ID. I am getting mixed answers. Has anyone tried it?
Check the link again, specifically, under TSA Pre✓® for Active Duty Military and DoD Civilians.

Are all individuals who have a common access card or DoD ID card eligible?

"At this time, only members of the U.S. Armed Forces and DoD federal civilians are eligible for TSA Pre✓® through the existing partnership between DoD and TSA. Eligible DoD federal civilians must opt-in via milConnect. Members of the U.S. Armed Forces are not required to opt-in."
__________________
"My logisticians are a humorless lot...they know if my campaign fails, they are the first ones I will slay." – Alexander the Great
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12 April 2017, 06:27
sarc88's Avatar
sarc88 sarc88 is offline
Doc McNasty
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: N.VA
Posts: 2,708
Quote:
Originally Posted by claymore36 View Post
Google is not broken. I already went there. TSA website is not clear on contractors ID. I am getting mixed answers. Has anyone tried it?
It's a NO.

All my ctrs tried it w/o success within the last 18mos.
__________________
Be nice to everyone you meet...but always have a plan to kill them.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17 April 2017, 22:11
KMP KMP is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 14
Works for me, just enter your ten digit DoD ID from the back of your CAC on the airlines booking system you are making reservations with. It will be in a field label Known Traveler Number (KTN). That being said I am dual persona (CTR and NG). But I don't think it matters, pretty sure they are not running your DoD ID against a database. Just make sure you use your CAC as the ID when checking in and with TSA agent checking boarding pass....also TSA pre-check seems to be saturated lately, I think the number of people signing up make it a wash most of the times I have flown this last winter.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18 April 2017, 07:40
RGR.Montcalm's Avatar
RGR.Montcalm RGR.Montcalm is offline
Been There Done That
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Clearing fields of fire
Posts: 10,322
I was told by a Delta counter employee (in Raleigh-Durham last WED) when I asked why my ticket didn't have the Pre-Check on it that if you are a retiree you will randomly get a Pre-Check.

Sounded like hogwash to me but couldn't get it unless I signed up.
__________________
Shallow men believe in luck; strong men believe in cause and effect
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18 April 2017, 09:04
Ace's Avatar
Ace Ace is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: PA
Posts: 5,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by claymore36 View Post
Google is not broken. I already went there. TSA website is not clear on contractors ID. I am getting mixed answers. Has anyone tried it?
?????
Attached Images
File Type: jpg TSA.jpg (38.9 KB, 119 views)
__________________
As a dreamer of dreams and a travelin' man, I have chalked up many a mile. Read dozens of books about heroes and crooks, And I've learned much from both of their styles

Loved by few, judged by many
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18 April 2017, 09:57
SN's Avatar
SN SN is offline
Old and Broke
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: The GREAT State of Texas
Posts: 4,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by RGR.Montcalm View Post
I was told by a Delta counter employee (in Raleigh-Durham last WED) when I asked why my ticket didn't have the Pre-Check on it that if you are a retiree you will randomly get a Pre-Check.

Sounded like hogwash to me but couldn't get it unless I signed up.
Using my retiree number has been hit or miss for me, usually does not work in San Antonio, but I don't have problems when I am on the return leg.
__________________
FISHDO
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18 April 2017, 16:24
cedsall's Avatar
cedsall cedsall is offline
giving you a number
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 262
Contractor CACs are not *supposed* to work. Sometimes they do.

As someone else mentioned, civs can sign up through MilConnect. That somehow permits use of the DoD ID# as a KTN.

If you don't want to take your chances, you can just apply for pre-check. Costs $85 for 5 years. More PII in government databases but I'm in so many at this point that one more isn't going to make a difference.

You make the appointment, pay your money, they do (another) background check, fingerprints, etc, and sometime later you get a KTN. I received mine in about 5 days. Two folks I work with took over 90 days. Didn't seem to be any rhyme or reason - all contractors, all with clearances. I'm retired (mil) but I don't know how that would make a difference.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18 April 2017, 17:27
Steve40th Steve40th is offline
Confirmed User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Charleston, South Carolina
Posts: 391
Contractor CAC cards are for job specific contracts. People have used them, as TSA , Bases, Base Gyms, Commissary and Exchanges ( a while before they scanned them) illegally. They know better.
I paid for my TSA Precheck... I felt it was worth it when I was flying allot.
It used to be given out by airlines, then I guess the government saw a way to grab some money from citizens...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 19 April 2017, 16:20
KidA's Avatar
KidA KidA is offline
Authorized Personnel
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: WbyGV
Posts: 17,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve40th View Post
I guess the government saw a way to grab some money from citizens...
That's why I never did it as a contractor - TS clearance, Military service, Govt Contractor, not a bad person - yet in order to be treated as a citizen and not with suspicion I have to pay someone else some of my money.

Fuck that.

Now that I'm a civ I may try it if it's free, but I never will as long as I have to pay for the privilege of not being viewed as a criminal simply for showing up.
__________________
Hey homo, its me -- Andy/SOTB
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 19 April 2017, 16:32
Gray Rhyno's Avatar
Gray Rhyno Gray Rhyno is online now
Authorized Personnel
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NoVa
Posts: 8,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by KidA View Post
Now that I'm a civ I may try it if it's free, but I never will as long as I have to pay for the privilege of not being viewed as a criminal simply for showing up.
Precheck isn't free. It costs $85.
__________________
"The most HSLD stuff ever taught was the basics. So-called 'advanced training' is often no more than the very fluid and expert application of those basic skills." - SOTB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Our new posting rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:12.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Socnet.com All Rights Reserved
SOCNET