SOCNET

Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > General Topics > Weapons

Old 6 October 2018, 18:05
Confirmed User

Weapons ownership, for your daughters...

Most of us were either brought up with weapons, or learned via some formal training via LEO, Military.
But, when it comes to your daughters, at what age did you feel comfortable for her to own her own weapon? I am focused more on daughters due to having two. Sons typically show a much stronger want/need of weapons early in life.
My youngest is 18, great student in HS, swim team and college now. She is a student pilot, did this all on her won. Very much a self starter.
Legally she can buy here in SC. She does have a little 22LR pistol she calls hers, but it stays in the safe unless we go to the range.
I have been shooting paper and metal targets with her for about 4 years. She is pretty good, very conscious of where the barrel is pointing and keeping finger off of trigger prior to shooting. Basic stuff.
Sorry to ramble, but would you wait for her to just ask for me to purchase a gun with her, and go from there, or sit her down and talk about self defense and carrying a weapon in her car, at a minimum?
Old 6 October 2018, 18:23
The Sagacious One