SOCNET

Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > General Topics > Gear, Survival and Fieldcraft

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11 December 2019, 12:56
litepath's Avatar
litepath litepath is offline
I reckon so. . .
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ga.
Posts: 4,231
Olight WarriorX

Okay, so Am I the ONLY one who chose to buy the Warrior X?

I have no idea if it's a good/keeper or not yet.

Reason being I cannot get it to fire with Nitecore 18650 battery/s.

My Olight arrived kinda weak. So, I just slipped in a new Nitecore 18650 to try the Warrior with and when actuating the switch on the light itself (not the remote) it makes one quick blink of light then NADA. Change back to Olight 18650 and it works as designed. Nitecore, no. no worky.

Nitcore is a tad longer. . .as in 0.030 "

Anyone else try this?
__________________
If there’s a chain of argument, every link in the chain must work (including the premise)—not just most of them. Carl Sagan, The Baloney Detection Kit.

*Victims* Hate Winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11 December 2019, 13:06
Polypro's Avatar
Polypro Polypro is offline
BTDT
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: A Noisy Bar In Avalon
Posts: 15,291
WarriorX is around 80,000 Candela - so it may need batteries that put out more than 8/10 Amps. See if you can find the Amps of the Olight battery. I personally buy Acebeam Batteries for high output lights - they provide 20 Amps. This is the one that comes with their 91,000 Candela L16:

https://www.batteryjunction.com/aceb...n-battery.html

Edit: Looks like the WX draws up to 15 Amps. Here's the battery:

https://www.batteryjunction.com/olight-orb-186s30.html
__________________

The Karen Proclamation: “I fear the virus. I fear the outside. I fear other citizens. I will remain inside forever and live twice is long. I sit with Karen, now and eternally.”
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11 December 2019, 13:42
litepath's Avatar
litepath litepath is offline
I reckon so. . .
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ga.
Posts: 4,231
1000MAH =1 Amp. My Nitecore is a 3400MAH, meaning 3.4 amps. more than the Olight @3000MAH. You'd need 15,000 MAH to equal 15 amps.

Battery is sharp, not weak when it flashes/pops.
__________________
If there’s a chain of argument, every link in the chain must work (including the premise)—not just most of them. Carl Sagan, The Baloney Detection Kit.

*Victims* Hate Winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11 December 2019, 14:09
Ole crusty bastard's Avatar
Ole crusty bastard Ole crusty bastard is offline
Authorized Personnel
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Port Charlotte FL
Posts: 5,605
I've had light do that, poor connections was the culprit. One light still does it once in a while, I just spin it a half turn or so and presto. I have electrical grease on the Walmart shopping list.
__________________
...when in doubt...over prime.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11 December 2019, 14:17
Polypro's Avatar
Polypro Polypro is offline
BTDT
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: A Noisy Bar In Avalon
Posts: 15,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by litepath View Post
1000MAH =1 Amp. My Nitecore is a 3400MAH, meaning 3.4 amps. more than the Olight @3000MAH. You'd need 15,000 MAH to equal 15 amps.

Battery is sharp, not weak when it flashes/pops.
You're comparing storage capacity vs power draw/output. What Nitecore battery are you using? My NL1835HP only outputs 8A, see:

https://www.nitecorestore.com/Niteco...e-nl1835hp.htm

Unless you have the Nitecore 3100-35A - you need more battery. You're probably tripping your protection circuit.

The battery that the WX comes with, does:

Rated Discharge Current: 15A (Up to 20A)

If your Nitecore doesn't do that, you need to get yourself another map (Tommy Boy Reference, Hahahahahaha!)
__________________

The Karen Proclamation: “I fear the virus. I fear the outside. I fear other citizens. I will remain inside forever and live twice is long. I sit with Karen, now and eternally.”
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11 December 2019, 15:31
litepath's Avatar
litepath litepath is offline
I reckon so. . .
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ga.
Posts: 4,231
You're all over it Poly.
Totally ignored the discharge circuit. Nitecore is like 2 amps or so on the NL189.
thanks!
__________________
If there’s a chain of argument, every link in the chain must work (including the premise)—not just most of them. Carl Sagan, The Baloney Detection Kit.

*Victims* Hate Winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11 December 2019, 21:46
The Fat Guy's Avatar
The Fat Guy The Fat Guy is offline
Hard to Kill
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Getting off the lawn.
Posts: 15,821
I recharged the Olight battery and it works great. I have a few dozen high end nitecores, I will check them out when I get home.
__________________
No one will take better care of us, than us: Suicide Hotline: 1-800-273-8255
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Our new posting rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:51.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Socnet.com All Rights Reserved
© SOCNET 1996-2020