SOCNET

Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > Areas of Expertise > Technology and Communications

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24 July 2018, 18:41
litepath's Avatar
litepath litepath is offline
Shovel Whisperer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ga.
Posts: 2,608
Hard Drive Cloning.

What is your go to software for hard Drive cloning?

I tried Acronis, but it's finniky. Tried Macrium and have had 3 failures during cloning.
Presently doing a CHKDSK on the old girl.

So, gimme the easiest bestest software to use for this.

I am replacing my Old 2008 Laptops' 5400 RPM Hard Drive with an SSD, but want to clone if I can manage it.

TIA

PS: If you start shitting out nerdspeak I'll be lost. . .More lost than I am LOL.
__________________
He wouldn't know God if he crawled up his pant leg and bit him on the pecker; Marcus Hamilton, "Hell or High Water." [Referring to a TV evangelist]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24 July 2018, 19:14
Fast Eddie's Avatar
Fast Eddie Fast Eddie is offline
SOCNET Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the road to Hell!
Posts: 1,418
Not sure your laptop has the bios to support an SSD drive. Both Western Digital and Acronis have good software. I just did a 1.5 TB sector by sector restore on an SSD and a raid with no problems using Acronis.
__________________
Arms discourage and keep the invader and plunderer in awe, and preserve order in the world as well as property... Horrid mischief would ensue were the law-abiding deprived of the use of them
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24 July 2018, 19:21
litepath's Avatar
litepath litepath is offline
Shovel Whisperer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ga.
Posts: 2,608
Yes. According to HP after entering my specs, they'll sell me an SSD and Memory. I bought both online, but not from HP due to price. Crucial on both.

Just finished CHKDSK, perhaps I'll try again.

thnx
__________________
He wouldn't know God if he crawled up his pant leg and bit him on the pecker; Marcus Hamilton, "Hell or High Water." [Referring to a TV evangelist]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24 July 2018, 19:26
Jimbo's Avatar
Jimbo Jimbo is offline
Scoundrel
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: inside your OODA loop
Posts: 6,162
For Macs: SOTB-endorsed Carbon Copy Cloner

http://socnet.com/showthread.php?t=9...on+copy+cloner

For Windows: thermite.
__________________

“It's not a good idea to allow an unknown enemy force to attack your compound. Ever, really.” -MixedLoad

"When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro." -HST

Secrets don't sleep til they're took to the grave. -BMTH
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25 July 2018, 06:53
Polypro's Avatar
Polypro Polypro is offline
BTDT
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: A Noisy Bar In Avalon
Posts: 12,977
You can try Paragon:

https://www.paragon-software.com/free/br-free/#

I've never actually "Cloned" a disk per se' - I've always just created an Image, took out the old disk and installed the new, and then restored the image to the new disk - Have you tried that?

Are you trying to do this all on the laptop with something like a USB Dock for the new drive? If so, that may come into play - moving both old and new to a desktop with free IDE/SATA ports may work?

If you want to try Linux (GParted):

https://www.tigraine.at/2014/01/04/h...minimal-effort

P.S. If the disk interface is the same between Old and New (SATA) - there shouldn't be a compatibility problem - disks are pretty simple. Any SSD off Amazon should be fine - SanDisk 'SSD Now' drives are best bang for buck. Now, if that 2008 box has an IDE interface - you'd need a new computer.

Last edited by Polypro; 25 July 2018 at 07:24.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25 July 2018, 07:05
RangerCharlie's Avatar
RangerCharlie RangerCharlie is offline
A/1/75
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: VA
Posts: 8,275
I use WD tools, but most drive companies supply tools for cloning
__________________
Trust but Verify

Charlie
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25 July 2018, 07:17
Polypro's Avatar
Polypro Polypro is offline
BTDT
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: A Noisy Bar In Avalon
Posts: 12,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by RangerCharlie View Post
I use WD tools, but most drive companies supply tools for cloning
Good point, I guess I need to stop throwing those OEM CD's away
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25 July 2018, 12:47
BOFH's Avatar
BOFH BOFH is offline
I aim to misbehave
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: \\Gibson\garbage
Posts: 4,254
dd/dcfldd
__________________
"...for those who man the battle line, the bugle whispers low, and freedom has a taste and price the protected never know..."


While true:
Continue
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25 July 2018, 14:47
litepath's Avatar
litepath litepath is offline
Shovel Whisperer
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ga.
Posts: 2,608
Got it done using Acronis. Tried it to start with, but it acted up. Tired several others incl. Paragon, said I needed a new version of Windows. using Win7 here.
Took the Laptop back across the street to the house and went thru the Crucial site, which linked back to Acronis. This time was easy and worked and using it as I type.
Thanks to all!

I think the total problem with it, the SSD, was the way Windows treats it when connected via USB for cloning.
Went to control panel, found that drive->properties/enabled write caching. Just a suspicion.
__________________
He wouldn't know God if he crawled up his pant leg and bit him on the pecker; Marcus Hamilton, "Hell or High Water." [Referring to a TV evangelist]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26 July 2018, 06:38
Paul85 Paul85 is offline
I still think I'm fooling everyone
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,354
Clonezilla, Partition Wizard (used to have a free ISO somewhere around v 9.1, now it's paid) (both run from removable media), Acronis works too.

If you need a raw image you can use FTK Disk Imager Lite from OS level (there's an option for raw/dd image but bear in mind it's without boot sector).

Or, if you like Linux, Partimage plus diskdupe might be your friend.

Some OEMs add their software for disk cloning when you buy an SSD, for example. Hell, Samsung even used to give a SATA/usb adapter with some of their their EVO series.

Last edited by Paul85; 26 July 2018 at 06:47.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Our new posting rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 21:08.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Socnet.com All Rights Reserved
© SOCNET 1996-2018