Go Back   SOCNET: The Special Operations Community Network > U.S. Army Special Operations > 75th Ranger Regiment

Old 2 July 2011, 16:53

Man claiming to be an Operation Anaconda Ranger

Gentlemen,
There is a man claiming to be a 2 tour OEF Ranger, veteran of Operation Anaconda, who is being used as a poster boy for a homeless organization called Help USA. I was introduced to this fellow on Facebook by SFC(R) Michael Schlitz, who is a Ranger. I am a WWP employee, and as such have a number of "friends" from the various services, including some SOF personel.
If Robert Lebron is the Ranger he claims to be, I'm sure you guys would want to help him out. If not, he is capitalizing on the great name you Rangers have earned.

Mike and another Ranger are calling his service into question. I brought it to a moderator's attention and was given the go ahead to post it here. I will post a few links to this guy below. I work with vets for a living, am an OIF vet myself, and have a pretty strong BS detector. At WWP we need a DD214 to verify service. I don't think all the other non-profits do.

Here are the links...
youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=93hvaANWbdQ
helpUSA: http://www.helpusa.org/Programs/veteran
Huffpost: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/maria-..._b_887234.html

If he is who he says he is, I'm a career services manager for Wounded Warrior Project, have him get in touch with me. If he isn't, well....have at it.

ATW!
Steve Kraft
Old 2 July 2011, 17:24
ORP

That Mod was me.

A couple quick observations.

Statistcally, he's already unlikely to be a real deal:

1.) He's Black. An incredibly small % of Rangers are Black. Not a racial thing, just a fact. Very few try out, and the swim test in [RIP] RASP fails a lot of the Black guys for some reason.

2.) With that in mind, there were very few Rangers involved in Operation Anaconda.

So a very small percentage of an already small percentage.